Mar 182013

The 2013 season was one of the most competitive seasons in recent history.  There were 5 different winners throughout the season, and up to 12 drivers in the lead group through an entire race, all finishing within a couple of seconds of each other.  Every race through the entire season came down to the final lap, and every race win was earned.  As the season neared the end, the race for the FTDA championship became apparent that it would be between two drivers, and was a battle between the tortoise and the hare.  The tortoise (while not remotely slow) was the super constant Michael Iamundi.  Michael won just 3 races through the season, but finished on the podium in 14 of the 17 scored races.  The hare, Steve Bamford, won a very impressive 9 out of 17 races through the season, including the final 5 races in a row.  While both impressive feats in their own right, Michael would edge out Steve for his fifth straight championship, winning by just 6 points, 1298 to 1292.  Rounding out the top 5 for the season was Phil Wang, Andrew Waring, and Spencer Todd.

The Master’s Championship had 6 competitors through the year in it’s second season.  Defending his championship, and winning for a second straight year was Kevin Deevey in his new Womer EV3.  Deevey was followed closely throughout the season by Dave Aird and Frank O’Hanlon.  A strong contender in the class was Bill Mitchell, winning 7 races.  Mitchell would only enter 9 races in the season, taking him out of contention for the title.

The Rookie title was primarily a one horse race through the majority of the season, with Matt Garwood being the only rookie to compete in all 6 weekends.  He did not go without competition, however, as Reid Arnold and Garwood had a number of spirited battles throughout the season.


Looking forward to 2013, everybody will be chasing (again) 5 time defending champion Michael Iamundi.  There will be a large cast hot on his heals, with a number of drivers who led a race at one point in 2012, and have potential to win, including Steve Bamford, Phil Wang, Andrew Waring, Spencer Todd, Kevin Kapelke, Noel Brigido, and Dave Taylor.  The front runners should also be on the lookout for the young up and coming soft-more drivers Matt Garwood, Reid Arnold, and rookie driver Sid Nye.  Kevin Deevey will make a strong effort to defend and win his third straight Master’s Championship.  Expect a number of new drivers to enter the Master’s class for the 2013 season and provide steep competition.

The series will begin May 4-5 at the fast pace Canadian Tire Motorsports Park (Mosport), before heading to the much more technical Shannonville Motorsports Park May 25-26.